top of page


Find the latest breaking news and more information from NST.

21st February 2023 Stockholm, Sweden. Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation (NSTF) announces the awardees of ``The Sustainability Award- Outstanding Contribution in Sustainability for year 2022.

Awardee Mr. Xie Zhenhua, who is the Special Envoy for Climate Change, Ministry of Ecology and Environment of the People’s Republic of China. The award is based on Mr. Xie’s tremendous contribution regarding world climate changes as well as building global cooperations in sustainable development. Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation also awarded the medals of Outstanding Contribution in Sustainability to Dr. Bruno Wu, Chairman and CEO of Sun Seven Stars Investment Group of China, and Mr. Collin O’Mara, CEO of National Wildlife Federation of America for their great efforts and contributions on climate changes for many years.

The founder and board directors of the Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation have been observing the devastation of the world’s vital, natural, and non-renewable resources with great concern. The NSTF issues the award and medals for the first time in 2022 since its inception to cite and commemorate the recipients’ outstanding contribution in sustainability.

Uppdaterat: 25 dec. 2022

Left to right: Peter Nobel, Slav W. Hermanowicz, Micheal Molls, Marcel Aeschlimann

Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation convened its second annual summit in Paris, France, at Palais Brongniart on the 21st of November 2022, supported by local main sponsor GL events. Summit proceedings and focusing on “Energy and Water”, the summit were broadcast worldwide over social media.

Keynote speaker is British scientist Professor Stanley Whittingham, director of the Institute for Materials Research at the State University of New York at Binghamton. Whittingham was awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry alongside Akira Yoshino (Japan) and John B Goodenough (USA) “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.” World-wide participants and speakers are government officials, NGO organizations, university professors, entrepreneurs.

Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation awarded the medal for Outstanding Contribution in Sustainability. The two recipients, from Asia and North America, respectively, were Dr. Bruno Wu from Beijing, China, founder of the World Carbon Neutrality Council and Mr. Collin O´Mara of Reston, Virginia, USA, president and CEO of the National Wildlife Federation. This year’s awards medal and recognition letter were presented at the Paris Summit and Bertie Ahern, his is the co-chair of the Interaction Council of 40 Former Heads of State and Government and the former prime minister of Ireland sent his regards to summit and congratulations to the persons who got medal for Outstanding Contribution in Sustainability.

NST chairman Michael Nobel said the annual “The Sustainability Award” will focus on applied science and recognize outstanding sustainable development projects around the world, including in the fields of new energy, new materials, water, health, agriculture, IT and artificial intelligence.

The Nobel Sustainability Trust Foundation, founded by four members from Nobel family the previous name was “ Nobel Charity Trust” since 2007, and from 2022 changed to its present name in 2011 to more accurately represent its role and activities. The NST logo and The Sustainability Award are trademarked in the EU and worldwide. NST is independent of the Nobel Foundation which awards the Nobel prizes established by Alfred Nobel. NST reflects the wishes of the five Nobel family members currently serving as trustees to have a award which associated with their ancestors willingness to devoted to sustainable development.

Uppdaterat: 25 dec. 2022

Updated 2022-12-10 The Sustainability Award supported by NST, more information here.


bottom of page